Sahaja Yoga Meditation is based on the Self-Realization experience – the awakening of an Inner Energy which resides in a potential state at the base of the spine of every human being. The benefits of regular meditation can be seen in every aspect of life – physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual. The inner energy, when awakened, nourishes the nervous system and the organs controlled by the nervous plexuses placed along the spine, alleviating stress and engendering a deep state of peace and inner balance. This process is achieved by accessing a new state of human consciousness called “thoughtless awareness”, where one is fully alert while relaxed at the same time, without any thought activity. Such a state is normally difficult to achieve but it is made possible and deepened through the activation of the inner energy residing in the sacrum bone. The daily practice of meditation gradually enhances the initial experience and the growth of our awareness begins to take place.


Brain Scan
Frontal Midline Theta: log (power) during meditation

Evidence from several clinical and neurological studies demonstrate the impact that meditation has on influencing brain chemical activities that regulate attention, mood, and emotions in positive ways. Studies indicate that Sahaja Yoga Meditation increases positive emotions, reduces negative emotions, improves emotional flexibility and coping skills, and overall psychological stability. Scientific research in England, Australia, India, Russia, Romania, Italy and other countries, has shown remarkable health benefits of this meditation practice for alleviating a host of illnesses ranging from high blood pressure, asthma, menstrual disorders and epilepsy to depression and ADHD. In Washington D.C., the National Institutes of Health hosted two international symposiums on the health benefits of Sahaja Yoga Meditation and has been offering weekly programs for its staff and patients since 1998.

The Subtle Energy System



The Subtle System is the network of Energy Centers and channels through which your Inner Energy flows. Sahaja Yoga Meditation helps you learn to feel, understand, and ultimately use, the Subtle System to achieve Self Realization. This process is all started by raising your Inner Energy. Starting in the sacrum at the base of your spine, the energy is raised through all the Energy Centers, opening, clearing, and activating them. After the energy has combined in the final Energy Center at the crown of the head, it is released through the area where the fontanelle at the crown of the head used to be. At that time, you can actually “feel the energy within,” in the form of a cool, or sometimes warm, breeze, on the palm of your hand.

What is Inner Energy?


Your Inner Energy, or Kundalini, (again from Sanskrit,) is the power of pure desire, a soothing spiritual energy that lies dormant at the base of the spine above the first Energy Center. When awakened, it rises through the central channel, piercing the six Energy Centers and is released through the fontanelle – often feeling like a cool breeze, is what is known as Self Realization. Experiencing Self Realization is what it is to “feel the energy within.” Tapping into and raising your Inner Energy is the key to improving your life in every possible way across every level. Even if you don’t achieve Self Realization immediately, you will still feel calmer, more relaxed and less stressed. Try it and see for yourself.

What are Energy Centers?

They’re wheels of energy that rotate in a clockwise manner…

There are seven Energy Centers (also known by their traditional Sanskrit names, chakras) in the human body. Energy Centers are fulcrums that control most aspects of our physical, mental and spiritual lives. Often difficulties in life can be traced to imbalances or blockages in one or more of the Energy Centers. The Energy Centers are connected by channels which are sometimes referred to by the Sanskrit name, Nadi.

When the Kundalini rises and nourishes the chakras, our bodies automatically become dynamic, creative, confident. Each chakra has a quality. The chakras always exist in the body and can never be destroyed but they do not manifest themselves until the Kundalini is awakened.

1. Mooladhara – Innocence and Wisdom


The first chakra, Mooladhara, forms the foundation of your entire subtle energy system. It represents eternal and indestructible qualities within you. These qualities only manifest to their fullest potential when your Inner Energy has been awakened. The Mooladhara will help you rediscover your innocence, dignity, innate and intuitive wisdom, purpose and direction, as well as balance and harmony with nature.

Meditation music for first energy center, Mooladhara:

2. Swadisthan – Creativity, Spontaneity


The second chakra, Swadisthan, stimulates your creative instincts. The qualities of Swadisthan energy center also include idea generation, beauty appreciation, undistracted attention, keen intellectual perception and pure knowledge.

Meditation music for second energy center, Swadisthan

3. Nabhi – Generosity, Contentment, Peace


At the Nabhi, third chakra, the realization of your accomplishments will be satisfied. The qualities of the Nabhi energy center are: nurturing, satisfaction, dignity, righteousness, balance, peace and joy, evolution.

Meditation music for third energy center, Nabhi/Manipur

3a. Void – Guru Principle, Self-discipline, Self-guidance

The Void represents the ocean of unenlightened awareness within an individual’s knowledge, the gap in the central channel. It is filled with the true knowledge as you receive your Inner Energy awakening and awareness. The qualities of the Void include balance, righteousness, sense of personal dignity, self-discipline, decisiveness, patience, thirst for truth and knowledge, the guru principle (the ability to guide yourself and others in spiritual evolution).

The Void, along with your Nabhi and Swadisthan chakras, represent integrated group. Together, they dictate the course of your evolution from your creation to your ultimate awareness of spirituality and your journey thereon.

Meditation music:

4. Anahat (Heart) – Unconditional Love and Compassion, Security


The fundamental quality of the Heart chakra is unconditional love. The Anahat chakra also opens up compassion, gracious behavior, joy and confidence. It also removes your fears and establishes sense of security, as well as positive paternal and maternal relationships.

Meditation music:

5. Vishuddhi – Communication, Diplomacy, Collectivity


Good communication, a sense of community and perspective, and a balanced approach to stressful situations are the fundamental qualities imparted by your fifth chakra, Vishuddhi.

Meditation music:

6. Agnya – Forgiveness


At the sixth chakra, Agnya, your forgiveness will allow you to move forward with life without grudges or hatred. You will be able to identify with your freedom and power of your inner self. It also helps you achieve the state of thoughtless awareness, control your Ego and Superego. Agnya chakra qualities also include humility and compassion.

Meditation music:

7. Sahasrara – Integration


It is through the Sahasrara chakra that you are able to connect to the power that created you. It will allow you to have a transformative connection that enables you to understand a deeper and truer meaning and purpose to your life. The qualities of the seventh energy center include a sense of “oneness” with the universe (also known as “integration”), thoughtless awareness or mental silence, as well as doubtless awareness.

Meditation music:

Each of your six main chakras (from Mooladhara through Agnya) has roots within your brain. When you practice the Sahaja Yoga Meditation exercise, Inner Energy rises. It passes through each of the six chakras and settles in the limbic region of your brain. This process is also known as Spiritual Enlightenment.